Back to All Events

Mitsuko Uchida, pianist in recital

  • Folly Theater 300 West 12th Street Kansas City, MO, 64105 United States (map)

Pianist Mitsuko Uchida, praised by The New York Times for possessing an “elegant and profound musicianship,” is indeed a very rare talent. She made her mark performing the music of Mozart, but her sublime touch with all composers has drawn universal praise from audiences and critics. Her recital will feature a program dedicated to Schubert’s poetic music.

Uchida, 69, first appeared on the Harriman-Jewell Series in 1989 and most recently in 1992, so she’s an artist many in Kansas City have been waiting decades to hear again. Born in Japan, Uchida moved to Austria with her diplomat parents when she was 12. It was in Austria that she absorbed the great Austrian musical tradition. In Vienna, she studied with Maria Curcio, who was Arthur Schnabel’s last student. Schnabel, in turn, studied with Theodor Leschetizky, who studied with Carl Czerny, who studied with Ludwig Van Beethoven, putting Uchida directly in the Beethoven lineage.

“Her ability to do particularly poetic literature like (Wolfgang Amadeus) Mozart and (Franz) Schubert is just jaw-dropping,” Harriman-Jewell Series' Executive and Artistic Director Clark Morris said. “Mitsuko is such a deep and phenomenal musician. Since we had her here the last time, she really hasn’t done much work in the United States. She comes to New York and has been the artistic director of the Marlboro Festival, but it’s been very difficult to see a piano recital by her in the United States because she concentrates mostly on Europe.”

Mitsuko Uchida’s loyal relationship with the finest orchestras and concert halls has resulted in numerous residencies. She has been Artist-in-Residence at the Cleveland Orchestra and at the Berlin Philharmonic, the Vienna Konzerthaus, Salzburg Mozartwoche and Lucerne Festival. Carnegie Hall dedicated to her a Perspectives series entitled "Mitsuko Uchida: Vienna Revisited."

Uchida_credit Decca_Justin Pumfrey.jpg

Schubert: Sonata for Piano in B major, D 575/Op. posth.
Schubert: Sonata for Piano in A minor, D 845/Op. 42
Schubert: Sonata for Piano in D major, D 850/Op. 53 "Gasteiner"

Single-Ticket Prices: $20 $25 $45 $50 $60 $70. Use the TICKETS button below to select single seats.

Earlier Event: February 9
Dance Theatre of Harlem