Events - Sunday, 28 February 2016

Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: Helzberg Hall
Kansas City, Missouri
Sunday, 28 February 2016 - 3:00 PM
Use the "Tickets" button above to select seats.

Single ticket prices: $30, $50, $60, $70, and $80

The world-respected Orchestra returns to the Series under the trusted leadership of its founder and artistic director, Mikhail Pletnev. The dynamic pianist Yuja Wang will serve as soloist for Tchaikovsky’s Concerto No. 2 in G major, with Shostakovich’s Festive Overture and Stravinsky’s The Firebird (1945) rounding out a sensational program.

The Russian National Orchestra (RNO) has been in demand throughout the music world ever since its 1990 Moscow premiere. Of the orchestra's 1996 debut at the BBC Proms in London, the Evening Standard wrote "They played with such captivating beauty that the audience gave an involuntary sigh of pleasure." More recently, they were described as "a living symbol of the best in Russian art" by the Miami Herald and "as close to perfect as one could hope for" by the Trinity Mirror.

Founder and Artistic Director Mikhail Pletnev is an artist whose genius as pianist, conductor and composer enchants and amazes audiences around the globe. His musicianship encompasses a dazzling technical power and provocative emotional range, and a searching interpretation that fuses instinct with intellect. In 1990 Pletnev formed the first independent orchestra in Russia's history. The risks of this step, even with Gorbachev's endorsement, were enormous and it was Pletnev's reputation and commitment that made his long-held dream a reality.

Pianist Yuja Wang’s prodigious virtuosity and technical control command critical appreciation; she is also regularly praised for the clarity of her musical insight, the freshness of her interpretations and charismatic power of her stage presence. A New York Times writer praised "She seems to have everything: speed, flexibility, pianistic thunder and interpretive nuance."

Presenter: Harriman-Jewell Series
Tchaikovsky: Concerto for Piano no 2 in G major, Op. 44
Artist: Yuja Wang (Piano)
Ensemble: Russian National Orchestra
Conductor: Mikhail Pletnev
Shostakovich: Festive Overture, Op. 96
Ensemble: Russian National Orchestra
Conductor: Mikhail Pletnev
Stravinsky: Firebird Suite (1945)
Ensemble: Russian National Orchestra
Conductor: Mikhail Pletnev
1 - 1 of 1

Give to the Series

Harriman-Jewell Series

Download Our Mobile App

Media Partner